Cards - Birthday, Cards - General, My Digital Studio

Kokeshi Birthday Beauties

Ok folks here is something completely different from my usual, not only does it use a digital stamp image, but I didn’t use a challenge to base the card on!! Amazed aren’t you.

I was inspired by some cool party bags I got for my daughters birthday party which feature  lots of lovely Japanese Kokeshi Dolls and decided to make that the theme for her invites. Kokeshi Dolls are traditional Japanese dolls made of wood, they have a larger than usual head and a long body but no arms or legs. They usually have painted on features and are decorated with flower designs but like all things creative that was up to the creator.

I found this image here and thought I could colour them in easily and of course they are very similar looking to my wee girl although she DOES have arms and legs!

DSCF4026 (523x640)

Each card features a different colourway, and I added a wee flower punch to her hair centred with a tiny diamante. The dolls themselves were printed on Whisper White cardstock then coloured , cut out leaving a border around the image then mounted using dimensionals on a matted piece of a retired DSP that looked vaguely Asian Inspired. Using another retired product, the Easter Blossom Stamp set, I stamped the cherry blossom branch twice straight on the card and then roughly coloured the flowers that would show.

“Youre Invited” is from a current set called  A Dozen Thoughts Its quite a simple card with a bold image that does all the work but I love it and I hope my daughter and her friends do too!DSCF4025 (640x441)

P.S I not crazy enough to invite 8 kids for a party- only 5 LOL, but I though this would make a gorgeous birthday card too so I did a few extras : )

DSCF4022 - Copy (640x480)

Leave a comment