Markers Direct

While surfing the net the other night I spotted the wee girl from the now retired Easter Blossoms stamp set used for quite a different result than I have seen before. I couldnt understand WHY I hadnt thought of doing it that way before so I had to try it!

I have used markers direct to rubber lots of times before but I hadnt thought of colouring solid images like the little girl. This is how it ended up, I have added details with markers too.

How cute is that! And doesnt it look completely different to the usual silhouette image. I have to think how best to use it on a card but I was thrilled with the result. So much so I though I would try another direct to rubber image. I used the Hydrangea image from the Level 1 hostess Because I Care Set.

I even added a touch of Frost White Shimmer paint. I love the way the leaves came out using Garden Green, Wild Wasabi and Certainly Celery not so pleased with the flower head though. I started with an all over layer of the palest colour, in this case Bashful Blue, and then added other colours, Concord Crush and Marina Mist to highlight and blend sections. The last and most important step  especially if the image is large or has taken a while to colour ,  is to “huff” on the stamp as the moisture in your breath moistens the ink again. i will have to look out some more of these solid image stamps to have a play with.

Leave a Reply

