Another Manic Day In My World

Sorry folks I had the best of intentions getting a post up tonight (its 1.30am as I write) I have to confess “The computer ate my homework Miss” I thought I would be a good girl and do a total close down and install the updates unfortunately it killed the computer completely and I was panicking BIG TIME! thankfully after three hours working at it the MAN was able to work his magic and make it work again.  We are kind of making do at the moment as the Earthquake  wreaked our laptop and other computer. I finally got as far as placing a claim today so hopefully they will look favourably on us and we might be able to replace the broken space. Everything else just kind of bounced but not the electronics strangely!

Anyway here is the Christmas Card I made for our last Team Swap. My first real go at heat embossing thanks to the lovely Sarah who leant me her heat tool thingee.

It is a 4″ Square card in Baja Breeze. I used Baja Breeze Ink to stamp the snowflake from Winter Post evenly over the whole card front. I did all the embossing using Whisper White Craft ink and White Embossing powder. The Reindeer is also from the Winter Post set; the vine along the top is from Vintage Vogue and Santa’s sleigh? Well its the “U” from the Broad Sheet Alphabet. I bet you don’t recognise the houses! That was a bit sneaky but I used the Neighborhood Wheel. I rolled out a strip on some scrap paper and then cut around the houses, removing them to create a stencil which I used with more Whisper White craft ink and a sponge. I loaded up the sponge with ink and sponged it over the stencil to create the border along the bottom. I stamped all the white bits first and then applied the embossing powder to the whole front at the same time. Craft ink is thicker and takes longer to dry than Classic Dye inks so this worked well.

I added rein details to the deer with our White Gel Pen. The sentiment is stamped using Concord Crush with the Merry Christmas Sentiment from Contempo Christmas on Baja Breeze, Punched out with the Scallop Oval and then the edges were sponged with Whisper White. I  mounted it using Dimensionals onto a Concord Crush Wide Oval which was stuck straight on to the  card.

I was really pleased with the results which I think were reasonably unique and very pretty. Not the usual Christmas Colours maybe but still effective.

3 comments on “Another Manic Day In My World

Leave a Reply

