Way off the page

Take your scrapbooking to the next level. Dont just leave it in your albums on the shelf,  show it around your home too. I bought a canvas about 6 months ago with a definite idea in mind but it took making the entry in the show to give me the push to get it done. I love getting into my family history and family is really important to me so what better way to show that than to create a work of (He)ART!

Whanau - WellBeing, Harmony, Aroha (love), Nurturing, Awhina (caring for one another) and Unity

Whanau - WellBeing, Harmony, Aroha (love), Nurturing, Awhina (caring for one another) and Unity

I inked the canvas with a sponge in Pale Plum, Perfect Plum, Tempting Turquoise, Taken with Teal and a touch of Brilliant Blue to mimic the paua shells colours. Wove some flax flowers (Putiputi) to decorate it and added some paua pieces, felt swirls and little shiny butterflies all spritzed with glitter spray.

whanau canvas detail 1

For the photo letters I used a photo editing programme to put them together. My family starting with the older generations was on the W &H, my immediate family on the A &N and my partner’s family on the A and U going thru the generations too. I cut them out and mounted them on chipboard that I had inked black around the edges.

I put it all together over a layer of black floristry mesh which I cut to frame the letters.  I just love how it looks, all the important people in my life in one place! Im going to  hang it in the entry so everyone can be greeted by it.

whanau canvas detail 2I will be back with another scarapbooking page tomorrow

Ka kite

Leave a Reply

